November 22, 2022

The last three World Cup winners before France in 2018, namely Italy, Spain, and Germany, have all gone out in the group stage of the following FIFA World Cup, following in the footsteps of France in 2002 and Brazil in 1966.

The repeated poor performances of the World Cup holders at the subsequent tournament has raised questions around whether that might be a World Cup champion's curse.

So in this video, ahead of France kicking off their World Cup defence in Qatar, HITC Sevens takes a look at the so-called World Cup winners' curse, the reasons behind it, and what it means for France at this World Cup.

By HITC Sevens


OLD FIRM | Rangers v Celtic at Broadwood | 22 Nov 2022

By Rangers Football Club (Official)

Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg 🇩🇰

By Tottenham Hotspur

Messi injured for the World Cup? 😨 #shorts

By Soccer Stories - Oh My Goal

Post Match | Micky Mellon (Burton Albion)

By Official Tranmere Rovers
Football Videos and Highlights